top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatashja

Anxiety and Prolapse

Updated: May 21, 2022

Due to the fact that doctors have still been unable to diagnose what my prolapse is caused by, there have been numerous speculations to what may have made my Uterine prolapse worse. Anxiety has been suggested as one of the potential exacerbators of my prolapse as I have a tendency to hold my breath when I am feeling stressed or anxious. Yet a vicious cycle develops, as all the medical appointments, scans and examinations about my prolapse make me feel stressed and anxious, consequently, I hold my breath which actually puts more strain on my pelvic floor muscles resulting in my cervix falling further down. Therefore, it is important for me when I get anxious in regards to all my medical appointments and problems to take long exhales and inhales ensuring no extra pressure is put on my pelvic floor. I have also recently started an anxiety course which allows me to talk openly about my anxious thoughts, much like this blog.

Although you may not hold your breath when you are anxious is it probably likely that you are experiencing some sort of anxiety in regards to your prolapse. Don't worry you are not alone! This is what I hope people gain from reading my blog the knowledge that they are not the only ones out there will prolapse but also you don't have to keep all these anxieties to yourself you should be able to discuss your feelings and vent your anger with having prolapse. One way I make myself feel better about my physio and stretches is to get a friend involved, getting your friend to do your physio with you not only is highly amusing but also makes you feel not so alone in the process. I am also fortunate to have a very close relationship with my mother where I feel comfortable to discuss any anxieties I am feeling in regards to having prolapse. If you don't have that relationship with your mother that's okay just make sure you find someone you feel close enough and comfortable enough to confide it and call when you are feeling down. Finally, you can always message me if you have any questions about my experiences but also if you want to confide it your own and I will be happy to reply.

220 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page