top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatashja

How Can You Help a Friend/Partner/Relative Suffering With Prolapse?

Updated: May 23, 2022

To be honest this is all relative to the person, as different people like being comforted and reassured in different ways. Personally I think for me the best way for someone to understand what I'm going through is for them to do their research and learn what prolapse actually is. I know for both males and females this may be an uncomfortable experience as there is a lot of stigma associated with the discussion surrounding genitalia. Also the conversation surrounding prolapse should not be made out as something secretive or disgusting, as this definitely does not make the individual suffering with it feel comfortable.

For partners, my article titled 'my sex life with prolapse' briefly touches on ways you can make your partner feel more comfortable in bed. This includes asking them if they are in pain as they may feel awkward or uncomfortable saying it themselves. Additionally, you can also discuss which positions work best for both of you. Experiment as a couple and communicate. Also remember that not only does prolapse impact your partners life physically but it can also have a large emotional impact. It goes a long way to ask your partner how they are feeling and coping with prolapse as, speaking from experience, going to numerous gynaecology appointments can feel invasive and emotionally stressful and at the end of the day I just wanted someone to hug me and tell me they are there for me.

For friends I think that its useful to understand what prolapse is but also what you are limited to do. For me I enjoy going to the gym and it is a way to vent my stress and anger and I often train with friends and it made a great difference them understanding what exercises I can and cannot do so they can workout with me. I have come to learn to focus on the things I can do rather the things I cannot. Although I cant squat rack or do double leg raises at least I can still fucking walk.


So basically, if you are friends or relatives or a partner to someone with prolapse, respect their wishes, what they can and cannot do, ask them how they are coping and also do your research.




126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page