top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNatashja

My Blog Revelation

Updated: May 21, 2022

This blog revelation came to me as I was working out in my room wondering if I would ever not feel angry at my body for being unable to perform certain exercises or sports, or if I would ever accept my body for what it is. In that moment I felt quite alone as I was still unable to find other women to share my experience or relate to what I had been going through for the past three years. I am a woman of 21 years old who HASN’T had kids yet but has uterine prolapse. Funnily enough a few weeks ago, I was in the pharmacy (a place that had almost come to feel like my second home) picking up a prescription which is meant to ease constipation, a potential cause and exacerbator of prolapse as it puts pressure on the pelvic floor. Discretely, I asked the pharmacist for Laxido, to which he replies asking me what flavour I want. I look back at him blankly and to further my embarrassment he follows with “how bad is your constipation?”. To be honest to all of you reading, I am not constipated and have not suffered chronic constipation, so I have no idea how to respond to this. Sensing my embarrassment, he ushers me into a private room so we can further discuss the severity of my constipation. Finally, I reveal to him that I have prolapse and have been recommended to take this medication so as to not exacerbate my condition and I am not in fact chronically constipated. Out of all odds he revealed to me that his wife also suffered from prolapse and says “you are just like my wife!”. In that moment I felt a ray of hope that maybe there was someone like me out there who has also been suffering from prolapse before having kids. But no, all hopes were shattered when he went on to tell me that his wife had three kids and developed her prolapse postnatal (after childbirth). Not only this, she has also had four unsuccessful surgeries to treat her prolapse. Although he was only trying to be helpful and make me feel better, I still felt like nobody related to my situation. Therefore, I am writing this in order to both desensitise talk around a women’s body; specifically genitalia but also hopefully to connect women and girls of my age or even younger who are experiencing prolapse before pregnancy. This website will also act as a platform for young women to educate themselves about their prolapse so they are not coping with it alone.

254 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page